Spiritual Forums - Spirits Journey Forums
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

A Fairytale from Italy

4 posters

Go down

A Fairytale from Italy Empty A Fairytale from Italy

Post by Wind-Dancer April 17th 2009, 3:17 pm

"The Fairy of the Woods & the Fairy of the Water"
A Fairytale from Italy

ONCE upon a time there lived in the seaside town of Salerno, Italy, a good old woman, a fishwife by trade, whose sole treasure and support was her grandson, a boy nearly twelve years of age.

He was a poor orphan, whose father had been drowned one stormy night, and whose mother had died soon afterward of grief. The boy, named Grazioso, had but his grandmother to love and to be loved by.

His grandmother was very old; she had only one tooth left in her head; her eyes were so dim that she could scarcely see, and her head shook with palsy. Each morning found her weaker, and increased her difficulty in getting about, and she felt sure that her end was drawing near. So every evening before Grazioso wrapped himself in his blanket and lay down on the floor, she tried to prepare him for the time when he would be left all alone.

Every time the old woman began to speak in her grave voice, the boy would raise his hand. "Grandmother," he would say, "I will not hear any of this. You must never leave me. I have arms, I am strong. Soon I will be able to work for us both. But if I should return from fishing some day and not find you at home, how could I live without you?"

Then he would embrace her.

"My child," said the old woman one day, "You shall not be as alone as you fear when I am gone. It is time now that I told you a great secret. Some years ago I rendered a service to two magical ladies. They will never forget you when the time comes for you to call them to your aid. And that time may now be very soon."

"Who are these two magical ladies?" asked Grazioso, who had only seen fishwives in his grandmother's hut.